Find Out What a $100 MBA is Worth from Omar Zenhom on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 39

Omar Zenhom realized a semester into a Wharton MBA program that his ten years of independent teaching experience already gave him the background to teach people what they really needed to know to run a business. His popular $100 MBA podcast now has close to 900 episodes, and it’s helping to grow the audience for his library of business training materials. Along the way, he realized he needed a better tool to host his online classes, so he developed the Webinar Ninja service to scratch his own itch, and turned it into a software-as-a-service business by popular demand.

In this episode, Omar will tell us:

  • why he believes that having immigrant parents broadened his perspective and strengthened his resolve,
  • how leveraging your strengths can help set you in the most sustainable direction for your business, and
  • what it’s like running a company with a cofounder and partner who’s also your spouse.

Where to find Omar online:

$100 MBA Podcast: https://100mba.net

Webinar Ninja: https://webinarninja.co/

Blog: https://webinarninja.co/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/theomarzenhom

Resources Omar mentioned:

Nicole Baldinu: https://twitter.com/Nicole_Baldinu

Wharton Business School: https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/

Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance: https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062301239/elon-musk

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Shoe-Dog/Phil-Knight/9781501135910

Slack: https://slack.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Meister Task: https://www.meistertask.com/

Tim Ferriss: http://tim.blog/

Pat Flynn: https://www.smartpassiveincome.com/

The Art of Charm: https://theartofcharm.com/

From Mindset Inequality to Serial Entrepreneurship with Ricky Yean on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 38

Finding the confidence to enter the privileged world of Silicon Valley entrepreneurs is hard enough, and all the more so when you come from a different country with a background of poverty. But serial entrepreneur Ricky Yean found ways to turn his differences into advantages by recognizing less obvious solutions to shared problems. After building Crowdbooster, a successful social media analytics firm, Ricky is now planning to disrupt the world of public relations, making metrics-driven journalist outreach accessible to small businesses on a subscription basis. In this episode Ricky will tell us how he positioned himself to attract venture capital, what his experiences with startup incubators taught him, and how he turned his people skills into leadership by helping others around him achieve.

Where to find Ricky online:

PRX: http://www.prx.co/

Crowdbooster: http://crowdbooster.com/

Blog: https://rickyyean.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rickyyean

Privilege and Inequality in Silicon Valley: https://medium.com/tech-diversity-files/privilege-and-inequality-in-silicon-valley-92d455b66860#.tlffrl1w9

Resources Ricky mentioned:

Paul Graham: http://paulgraham.com/

Wait but Why: http://waitbutwhy.com/

Elon Musk: https://twitter.com/elonmusk

Principles by Ray Dalio: https://www.principles.com/

Y Combinator: https://www.ycombinator.com/

Hacker News: https://news.ycombinator.com/

Jeff Bezos: https://twitter.com/JeffBezos

Amazon Web Services: https://aws.amazon.com/

Lightspeed Ventures: http://lsvp.com/

Escaping Jail to Find a Career in Podcasts with Nicole Holland on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 37

Knowing what you don’t want is sometimes just as important as knowing what you do want. That was definitely the case for Nicole Holland, who literally escaped from jail by quitting her job as a correctional officer to discover a more fulfilling way to make a living. Now Nicole hosts online summits about how to build a business, and helps experts learn how to present themselves effectively on podcasts. In this episode, Nicole will discuss some of the possible paths she pursued and abandoned along the way to her current career, tell us what qualities she thinks make podcasts unique in the media landscape, and explain why the process of writing things down on paper is valuable regardless of whether you ever refer to those notes later.

Where to find Nicole Online:

Interviews That Convert (special offer): http://interviewsthatconvert.com/htp

Building Business Rockstars: https://businessbuildingrockstarsummit.com/

Blog: https://bbrshow.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@niczthename

Resources Nicole mentioned:

John Lee Dumas: http://www.eofire.com/

MTV’s The Real World: http://www.mtv.ca/shows/real-world

Guerrilla Marketing by Jay Conrad Levinson: http://gmarketing.com/

Marisa Murgatroyd: http://www.liveyourmessage.com/

Superhero Summit: http://www.superherosummit.org/

Michelle Schubnel: http://www.coachandgrowrich.com/coaching/michelle-schubnel/

Process Street: https://www.process.st/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Asana: https://asana.com/

Nicole Culver: http://nicoleculverblog.com/

Blab: https://blab.im/

Dorie Clark: http://dorieclark.com/

Lou Bortone: http://www.loubortone.com/

The Mastery Journal by John Lee Dumas: http://www.themasteryjournal.com/

Acuity Scheduling: https://acuityscheduling.com/

Training Clients to Work Your Way with Curtis McHale on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 36

Curtis McHale took his training as a counselor and applied it to his work in web development, writing books and articles and hosting a podcast to help small businesses define their processes. He also coaches freelancers about how to optimize their work around the life they want to lead. Along the way he’s learned how to delegate the tasks he doesn’t enjoy, while holding onto the ones he finds energizing. In this episode, Curtis will explain how he trains his clients not to send him emails, he’ll share the process he follows to separate his work time from his personal time, and he’ll tell us how he turned his passion for Lego into a branding tool for his business.

Where to find Curtis online:

Personal Website: https://curtismchale.ca/

Consulting Website: http://sfndesign.ca/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/curtismchale

Running an Effective Project: http://sfndesign.ca/Project-Success/

Resources Curtis Mentioned

Boagworld: https://boagworld.com/show/

Red Booth: https://redbooth.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Calendly: https://calendly.com/

Omni Focus: https://www.omnigroup.com/omnifocus

Lego: https://www.lego.com/

Forty Eight Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller: www.48days.com

Jeff Goins: http://goinswriter.com/

The Art of Work by Jeff Goins: http://artofworkbook.com/

The Essential Gandhi: https://books.google.com.ph/books/about/The_Essential_Gandhi.html?id=gz6l-vCVgxQC&redir_esc=y

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield: http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art/

How to Read a Book by Mortimer Adler: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/567610.How_to_Read_a_Book

Making the App Industry Work for You with Carter Thomas on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 35

If you’re looking to build a business making and selling mobile apps, Carter Thomas has answers for you. His team at BlueCloud Solutions has provided the source code for over 1,500 apps, and sells templates and training to help people with no coding background go from idea to product to market. In this episode, Carter discusses how working with mentors and mastermind groups helps him build his own business while helping others do the same, he’ll share his sustainable approach to hiring, training, and managing a remote team, and tell us why it’s important to audit your project backlog regularly, and let go of the things that aren’t keeping you motivated.

Where to find Carter Online

Website: http://www.bluecloudsolutions.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/carterthomas

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bluecloudsolutions

Resources Carter Mentioned

The Four-Hour Workweek: http://fourhourworkweek.com/

Disco Style Runner app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/disco-style-runner-free-saturday/id581348057

Upwork: https://www.upwork.com/

Udemy: https://www.udemy.com/

Coursera: https://www.coursera.org/

Tasnim Ahmed: http://www.bluecloudsolutions.com/blog/making-100k-with-apps/

Anthony Hammond: http://redfoxapps.com/

Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/

Vimeo: https://vimeo.com

Slack: https://slack.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/en/

Asana: https://asana.com/