Video Marketing as a Product with Jason Hsiao on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 66

A decade before most of us were even thinking about cloud computing, Jason Hsiao and his team of cofounders at Animoto were testing the waters with a service that let people create and edit full-speed video in the browser. Now Animoto’s history of obsession with all things video marketing has positioned them as a solid leader in this increasingly vital industry. In this episode of Hack the Process, Jason will tell us what it was like leaving a successful career at MTV and Comedy Central to launch an untested business, why it’s important not to say yes automatically every time someone offers you money, and how Animoto dealt with the challenge of shifting its focus while still relying on a well established legacy customer base.

Where to find Jason online

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jason_hsiao

Animoto: https://animoto.com/hacktheprocess

Resources Jason mentioned

The Innovator’s Dilemma by Clayton Christensen: http://www.claytonchristensen.com/books/the-innovators-dilemma/

MTV: http://mtv.com/

Comedy Central: http://www.cc.com/

Crank Yankers: http://www.cc.com/shows/crank-yankers

Jimmy Kimmel: https://twitter.com/jimmykimmel

Adam Carolla: https://adamcarolla.com/

Dartmouth College: https://home.dartmouth.edu/

Bellevue High School: https://bsd405.org/bhs/

NBC: https://www.nbc.com/

FX: https://www.fxnetworks.com/

Stevie Clifton: https://www.linkedin.com/in/stevieclifton/

ABC: https://abc.go.com/

Amazon Web Services: https://aws.amazon.com/

Jeff Bezos: https://twitter.com/JeffBezos

Brad Jefferson: https://twitter.com/bradjefferson

Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh: http://deliveringhappiness.com/book/

Zappos: https://www.zappos.com/

Published by M. David Green

The host of Hack the Process, M. David Green is a writer and agile coach.

One thought on “Video Marketing as a Product with Jason Hsiao on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 66

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.