Get Uncomfortably Awake With Michelle Kim on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 51

Blending activism and entrepreneurship sounds like a delicate dance, but as a Diversity and Inclusion Consultant and a career coach, Michelle Kim is showing us how to make it happen, one uncomfortable conversation at a time. In this episode of Hack the Process, Michelle will explain why diversity training for startups is about more than just ticking a box on a form, how her own life experiences inspired her work with marginalized communities and individuals, and what she’s doing to make sure the information and training products she’s developing are effective, tested, and ready for the market.

Where to find Michelle online:

Awaken: http://www.visionawaken.com

Personal Coaching/Consulting Site: http://www.michellekimconsulting.com

Blog: https://medium.com/@michellekim

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mjmichellekim

UC Berkeley Graduation Speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlGQhwegchU&t=2m50s

Resources Michelle mentioned:

Creative Live: https://www.creativelive.com/

General Assembly: https://generalassemb.ly

Tim Ferriss: https://tim.blog/

Leslie Mac : http://www.lesliemac.com/

Safety Pin Box: https://www.safetypinbox.com/

Kimberly Bryant: https://twitter.com/6Gems

Black Girls Code: http://www.blackgirlscode.com/

Ericka Huggins: https://www.erickahuggins.com/

Black Panther Party: http://www.cbpm.org/nbpp.html

Rich Russo: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rich-russo-cdp-99204125

Elephant in the Room: http://theelephantintheroomdiversitytrainings.org/

Note: After this interview was published, Michelle let me know that my initial use of the word “woke” in the title could have been interpreted as cultural appropriation. Like all of us, I’m still learning, and I apologize for any offense. If there were a word that conveyed the concept as clearly and concisely I would have used it. Meanwhile I’ve substituted “awake” for “woke” in the updated title, and I would be grateful to hear from folks in the comments about better ways to get this complex idea across in a word, or maybe two. -David

Find Out What a $100 MBA is Worth from Omar Zenhom on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 39

Omar Zenhom realized a semester into a Wharton MBA program that his ten years of independent teaching experience already gave him the background to teach people what they really needed to know to run a business. His popular $100 MBA podcast now has close to 900 episodes, and it’s helping to grow the audience for his library of business training materials. Along the way, he realized he needed a better tool to host his online classes, so he developed the Webinar Ninja service to scratch his own itch, and turned it into a software-as-a-service business by popular demand.

In this episode, Omar will tell us:

  • why he believes that having immigrant parents broadened his perspective and strengthened his resolve,
  • how leveraging your strengths can help set you in the most sustainable direction for your business, and
  • what it’s like running a company with a cofounder and partner who’s also your spouse.

Where to find Omar online:

$100 MBA Podcast: https://100mba.net

Webinar Ninja: https://webinarninja.co/

Blog: https://webinarninja.co/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/theomarzenhom

Resources Omar mentioned:

Nicole Baldinu: https://twitter.com/Nicole_Baldinu

Wharton Business School: https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/

Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance: https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062301239/elon-musk

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Shoe-Dog/Phil-Knight/9781501135910

Slack: https://slack.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Meister Task: https://www.meistertask.com/

Tim Ferriss: http://tim.blog/

Pat Flynn: https://www.smartpassiveincome.com/

The Art of Charm: https://theartofcharm.com/

Radically Transparent Entrepreneurship with Justin McGill on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 32

As a serial entrepreneur, Justin McGill has embraced the concept of radical transparency, sharing the successes and failures of his ventures openly every week as the co-host of a public podcast, Zero to Scale. That’s allowed him to turn both his internal and external research into marketing, and grow the audience for his current company, LeadFuze. In this episode, Justin will tell us how he went from working in a trucking company to launching his first business, what he learned from reaching out to the author of the book that taught him about sales, and how he’s integrated both his personal and professional life through the project management tools he uses.

Where to find Justin online

LeadFuze: https://www.leadfuze.com/

Workado: http://workado.com/

Zero to Scale Podcast: http://zerotoscale.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Jus10Mcgill

(And if you listen to the episode, Justin also shares his direct email address.)

Resources Justin mentioned

Groove Blog: https://www.groovehq.com/blog

Alex Turnbull: https://twitter.com/alexmturnbull

Greg Hickman: http://greghickman.me/

WordPress: https://wordpress.com/

The Ultimate Sales Machine by Chet Holmes: http://www.chetholmes.com/ultimate-sales-machine

Brian Casel: http://bootstrappedweb.com/about/

Jordan Gal: http://jordangal.com/

Carthook: https://carthook.com/

Patrick Campbell: https://www.linkedin.com/in/patrickccampbell

Priceintelligently.com: http://www.priceintelligently.com/

Nathan Barry: http://nathanbarry.com/5k/

Microconf: http://www.microconf.com/

Slack: https://slack.com/

Stripe: https://stripe.com/

Intercom: https://www.intercom.com/

Zen desk: https://www.zendesk.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Github: https://github.com/

Zenhub: https://www.zenhub.com/

Salesforce: https://login.salesforce.com/

Moz (SEOMoz): https://moz.com/

SEMRush: https://www.semrush.com/

Clickfunnels: https://www.clickfunnels.com/

Everwebinar: https://everwebinar.com/main/index

Slice of Sales: http://sliceofsales.com/

Feedly: https://feedly.com/

Asana: https://asana.com/