Discover Your Inner Fitness Superhero With Julian Hayes on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 52

It’s possible to go from comic book nerd to fitness superhero, and Julian Hayes is proof of that. Julian turned himself into a writer, a speaker, and a coach by applying daily discipline to his routines while tracking his progress to figure out what worked best for his clients and for himself. In this episode of Hack the Process Julian will explain how he coaches fitness clients entirely online using tracking apps, why he avoids writing about specific diet and exercise prescriptions, and what one mundane but essential health recommendation he always comes back to.

Where to find Julian online:

Website: http://theartoffitnessandlife.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/thejulianhayes

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/julianhayesii/

free cheat sheet for busy entrepreneurs: http://theartoffitnessandlife.com/fitnessforbusyentrepreneurs/

Resources Julian mentioned:

Inc: https://www.inc.com/

Entrepreneur: https://www.entrepreneur.com/

Success: http://www.success.com/

FitBit: https://www.fitbit.com/

Apple Health: https://www.apple.com/lae/ios/health/

Jerry Seinfeld: http://jerryseinfeld.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/en/

Zoom: https://zoom.us/

Nudge: https://nudgecoach.com/nudgeapp/

Miles Davis: https://www.milesdavis.com/

Lenny Kravitz: http://www.lennykravitz.com/

Napoleon Hill: http://www.naphill.org/

freedom: https://freedom.to/

f.lux: https://justgetflux.com/

Spotify: https://www.spotify.com/us/

the four agreements: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005BRS8Z6/

mindset: https://mindsetonline.com/

Find Out What a $100 MBA is Worth from Omar Zenhom on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 39

Omar Zenhom realized a semester into a Wharton MBA program that his ten years of independent teaching experience already gave him the background to teach people what they really needed to know to run a business. His popular $100 MBA podcast now has close to 900 episodes, and it’s helping to grow the audience for his library of business training materials. Along the way, he realized he needed a better tool to host his online classes, so he developed the Webinar Ninja service to scratch his own itch, and turned it into a software-as-a-service business by popular demand.

In this episode, Omar will tell us:

  • why he believes that having immigrant parents broadened his perspective and strengthened his resolve,
  • how leveraging your strengths can help set you in the most sustainable direction for your business, and
  • what it’s like running a company with a cofounder and partner who’s also your spouse.

Where to find Omar online:

$100 MBA Podcast: https://100mba.net

Webinar Ninja: https://webinarninja.co/

Blog: https://webinarninja.co/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/theomarzenhom

Resources Omar mentioned:

Nicole Baldinu: https://twitter.com/Nicole_Baldinu

Wharton Business School: https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/

Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance: https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062301239/elon-musk

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Shoe-Dog/Phil-Knight/9781501135910

Slack: https://slack.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Meister Task: https://www.meistertask.com/

Tim Ferriss: http://tim.blog/

Pat Flynn: https://www.smartpassiveincome.com/

The Art of Charm: https://theartofcharm.com/

From Mindset Inequality to Serial Entrepreneurship with Ricky Yean on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 38

Finding the confidence to enter the privileged world of Silicon Valley entrepreneurs is hard enough, and all the more so when you come from a different country with a background of poverty. But serial entrepreneur Ricky Yean found ways to turn his differences into advantages by recognizing less obvious solutions to shared problems. After building Crowdbooster, a successful social media analytics firm, Ricky is now planning to disrupt the world of public relations, making metrics-driven journalist outreach accessible to small businesses on a subscription basis. In this episode Ricky will tell us how he positioned himself to attract venture capital, what his experiences with startup incubators taught him, and how he turned his people skills into leadership by helping others around him achieve.

Where to find Ricky online:

PRX: http://www.prx.co/

Crowdbooster: http://crowdbooster.com/

Blog: https://rickyyean.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rickyyean

Privilege and Inequality in Silicon Valley: https://medium.com/tech-diversity-files/privilege-and-inequality-in-silicon-valley-92d455b66860#.tlffrl1w9

Resources Ricky mentioned:

Paul Graham: http://paulgraham.com/

Wait but Why: http://waitbutwhy.com/

Elon Musk: https://twitter.com/elonmusk

Principles by Ray Dalio: https://www.principles.com/

Y Combinator: https://www.ycombinator.com/

Hacker News: https://news.ycombinator.com/

Jeff Bezos: https://twitter.com/JeffBezos

Amazon Web Services: https://aws.amazon.com/

Lightspeed Ventures: http://lsvp.com/

Making the App Industry Work for You with Carter Thomas on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 35

If you’re looking to build a business making and selling mobile apps, Carter Thomas has answers for you. His team at BlueCloud Solutions has provided the source code for over 1,500 apps, and sells templates and training to help people with no coding background go from idea to product to market. In this episode, Carter discusses how working with mentors and mastermind groups helps him build his own business while helping others do the same, he’ll share his sustainable approach to hiring, training, and managing a remote team, and tell us why it’s important to audit your project backlog regularly, and let go of the things that aren’t keeping you motivated.

Where to find Carter Online

Website: http://www.bluecloudsolutions.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/carterthomas

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bluecloudsolutions

Resources Carter Mentioned

The Four-Hour Workweek: http://fourhourworkweek.com/

Disco Style Runner app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/disco-style-runner-free-saturday/id581348057

Upwork: https://www.upwork.com/

Udemy: https://www.udemy.com/

Coursera: https://www.coursera.org/

Tasnim Ahmed: http://www.bluecloudsolutions.com/blog/making-100k-with-apps/

Anthony Hammond: http://redfoxapps.com/

Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/

Vimeo: https://vimeo.com

Slack: https://slack.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/en/

Asana: https://asana.com/

Networking as a Social Media Native with Tara Hunt on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 33

Tara Hunt is a networking pioneer who has considered herself a native of the online social landscape since before there were web browsers. Her enthusiasm for learning how people use new tools and techniques to connect with other people still keeps her engaged, even as the context evolves constantly. Tara’s work has included writing blogs and books about social capital (aka whuffie), creating co-working spaces, consulting with organizations large and small on social strategy, and developing video channels to support personalized brand marketing. In this episode, Tara will tell us about the challenges she faced being a single parent while her career shifted back and forth from employment to independent consulting, how she turned her own fear of missing out into an asset, and how she’s learned to keep herself steady as she surfs the turbulent waters of the social web.

Where to find Tara online:

Tara’s website: http://www.tarahunt.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/missrogue

Whuffie Factor: http://www.thewhuffiefactor.com/

Truly Social: http://www.tarahunt.com/truly-social/

Resources Tara Mentioned:

Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom by Cory Doctorow: http://craphound.com/category/down/

Justin Trudeau: https://twitter.com/JustinTrudeau

David Weinberger: https://twitter.com/dweinberger

BarCamp: http://barcamp.org/

Shel Israel: http://shelisrael.com/

Robert Scoble: http://scobleizer.com/

TechCrunch: https://techcrunch.com/

Michael Arrington: https://techcrunch.com/author/michael-arrington/

Brian Solis: https://techcrunch.com/contributor/brian-solis/

Gary Vaynerchuk: https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/

No Dumb Questions by Nancy Graham: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wksAoCrQ7gc

Justin Bender: http://www.canadianportfoliomanagerblog.com/