Maria Dismondy Shows How to Write, Publish, and Build a Business as a Mom on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 54

When you need a particular book and it doesn’t exist, sometimes you just have to write it yourself. But it takes focus and determination to turn a first book into a career change, especially while bringing up three children. Maria Dismondy took on that challenge, and now she’s an award-winning writer of children’s literature, and has built a publishing company to help other women share their work. In this episode of Hack the Process Maria will tell us what mentors and mastermind groups have taught her about delegating responsibilities, why she continues to invest her time and energy in social networking, and how she structures her routine to get it all done in a few hours a day without sacrificing family time.

Where to find Maria online

Website: http://mariadismondy.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mariadismondy/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mariadismondybooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mariadismondy

Resources Maria mentioned

Jonathan Rand: http://www.americanchillers.com/

Asana: https://asana.com/

Canva: https://www.canva.com/

Natalie Eckdahl: https://twitter.com/bizchixpodcast

BizChix: http://bizchix.com/

Dr. Michele Borba: http://micheleborba.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/

Gumroad: https://gumroad.com/

Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/

Four-Hour Workweek: https://fourhourworkweek.com/

Zoom: https://zoom.us/

Boss Mom: https://boss-mom.com/

Jay Wong Explains How to Access our Inner Changemaker on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 45

From speaking at his high school graduation to running a motivational consulting business, Jay Wong always knew deep down what he was meant to do, once he let go of trying to control the process. Jay’s authentic enthusiasm shines through in this episode of Hack the Process as he discusses meeting his mentors on his Inner Changemaker podcast, how he came up with his focus on legacy over currency, and the importance of applying what you learn, whether it’s a business lesson or the simple lifestyle choices that help keep Jay rested, hydrated, oxygenated, and ready for the next opportunity.

Where to find Jay online

Jay’s website: http://www.thejaywong.com/

The Inner Changemaker Podcast: https://www.theinnerchangemaker.com/

Jay Wong TV on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeR0FLjRFFLqY5nLPAmc0dA

Twitter: https://twitter.com/thejaywong

Resources Jay mentioned

Shannon Graham: http://shannongraham.com/

Neil Gaiman: http://www.neilgaiman.com/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/

Tony Robbins: https://www.tonyrobbins.com/

Tom’s Shoes: http://www.toms.com/

Jayson Gaignard: https://twitter.com/jaysongaignard

Mastermind Talks: http://www.mastermindtalks.com/

Grant Cardone: https://grantcardone.com/

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron: http://juliacameronlive.com/books-by-julia/the-artists-way-a-spiritual-path-to-higher-creativity/

Think and Grow Rich http://www.naphill.org/shop/books/think-and-grow-rich/

Essentialism: http://gregmckeown.com/book/

Shawn Stevenson: http://theshawnstevensonmodel.com/

Brendon Burchard: http://brendon.com/

Balancing Activism, Privilege, and Social Media with Frank Strona on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 43

Frank Strona is a public health advisor for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention who served on the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues in 2016. He also runs a private consultancy called MentorSF, where he teaches clients of all generations how to use social media to share their personal stories and advance their career goals. In this episode, Frank will tell us how he capitalized on his experience as sexual health educator and activist when he went back to school later in life, how mentoring continues to play a role in his career, and what nonprofit work has taught him about bringing your own privilege to the table when trying to help someone else with a different background.

Where to find Frank Online

MentorSF: http://mentorsf.com/

Engage! Blog: http://MentorSF.com/engage

Medium: https://medium.com/@FVStrona

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FVStrona

Resources Frank mentioned

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

Presidential Bioethics Commission: https://bioethicsarchive.georgetown.edu/pcsbi/

International Coaching Federation: https://www.coachfederation.org/

Susan Powter: http://www.susanpowteronline.com/

Time Trade: https://www.timetrade.com/

Day Timer: https://www.daytimer.com/daytimer/home

OneNote: https://www.onenote.com/

Evernote: https://evernote.com/

Toodledo: https://toodledo.com

Dr. Kathleen Roe: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kathleen-roe-05028436

Tez Anderson: https://letskickass.org

(Frank also asked me to add this disclaimer to the show notes: “The views expressed during this podcast come from my personal experiences and not represent views or opinions held by the CDC or HHS”)

The Power to Heal and Grow as Integrated Men, with JuVan Langford on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 42

Being a man in modern society comes with a lot of assumptions and negative stereotypes. JuVan Langford took a look at his own struggles with finding a positive masculine identity for himself, and made it his mission to help men identify with their integrated selves. JuVan currently runs a nonprofit that counsels young men in school, and works as a men’s empowerment coach, running events and working directly with clients around the world. In this episode, JuVan will share how he turned his feelings of vulnerability as an abused child into an asset, how he trains his clients to choose and use affirmations even when they don’t believe them at first, and how he identifies and connects with mentors from the past and the present as part of his personal development.

Where to find JuVan online

Website: http://www.juvanlangford.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juvanlangford

Resources JuVan mentioned

Robert Kiyosaki: http://www.richdad.com/

Jim Rohn: https://www.jimrohn.com/

John C. Maxwell: http://www.johnmaxwell.com/

Les Brown: https://www.lesbrown.com/

Zoom Conference: https://zoom.us/

WhatsApp: https://www.whatsapp.com/

Flipping the Publishing Industry Around with Tom Corson-Knowles on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 34

The publishing industry has changed dramatically in the past ten years, and Tom Corson-Knowles is helping new authors navigate the choppy waters. Tom took the lessons he learned when he set out to self-publish his first book and started sharing them, building a following and a new mission along the way. He now publishes courses for writers and provides boutique publishing services. In this episode Tom will explain how his early failures in traditional publishing guided him toward self-publishing, what it took to get his first ebook to monthly sales of over $10,000 in its first year, how he leverages the power of collaboration with other industry leaders, and what techniques he uses to delegate tasks to his team so he can focus on what he enjoys doing most.

Where to find Tom online

TCK Publishing: http://www.tckpublishing.com/

Ebook Training: http://www.ebookpublishingschool.com/

Blog: http://www.tomcorsonknowles.com/blog/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/JuiceTom

Resources Tom mentioned

J.A. Konrath: http://jakonrath.com/

Four-Hour Workweek: http://fourhourworkweek.com/

Asana: https://asana.com/

Basecamp: https://basecamp.com/

Google Docs: https://docs.google.com/

Udemy: https://www.udemy.com/

WordPress: https://wordpress.com/

Blogger: https://www.blogger.com/

Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/

Blog Business School: http://www.blogbusinessschool.com/

Sumo Me: https://sumome.com/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/