Executive Staffing in the Gig Economy With Pam Wasley on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 50

Now that the world is catching on to the advantages of the gig economy, Cerius Executives CEO Pam Wasley is helping companies satisfy their need for interim executives and advisors at the most senior levels, and bringing the staffing industry up to date along the way. In this episode of Hack the Process, Pam will tell us why seasoned veterans across all industries are opting for short-term engagements, how insightful process documentation can save a company hundreds of thousands of dollars a year, and what she has learned from sharing her experience and mentoring entrepreneurs.

Where to find Pam online

Cerius Executives (special offers for Hack the Process listeners): https://ceriusexecutives.com/htp

Cerius Advisors: https://ceriusadvisors.com/

How I Fired My Boss: http://www.howifiredmyboss.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/pamelawasley

Resources Pam mentioned

The First 90 Days: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15824358-the-first-90-days-updated-and-expanded

Upwork: https://www.upwork.com/

Uber: https://www.uber.com/

Lyft: https://www.lyft.com/

Google: https://www.google.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/

Google Hangouts: https://hangouts.google.com/

Zoom: https://zoom.us/

Disrupt You! By Jay Samit: http://jaysamit.com/books/

Sony: http://www.sony.com/

LinkedIn: https://linkedin.com/

Cisco: https://www.cisco.com/

Balancing Activism, Privilege, and Social Media with Frank Strona on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 43

Frank Strona is a public health advisor for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention who served on the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues in 2016. He also runs a private consultancy called MentorSF, where he teaches clients of all generations how to use social media to share their personal stories and advance their career goals. In this episode, Frank will tell us how he capitalized on his experience as sexual health educator and activist when he went back to school later in life, how mentoring continues to play a role in his career, and what nonprofit work has taught him about bringing your own privilege to the table when trying to help someone else with a different background.

Where to find Frank Online

MentorSF: http://mentorsf.com/

Engage! Blog: http://MentorSF.com/engage

Medium: https://medium.com/@FVStrona

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FVStrona

Resources Frank mentioned

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

Presidential Bioethics Commission: https://bioethicsarchive.georgetown.edu/pcsbi/

International Coaching Federation: https://www.coachfederation.org/

Susan Powter: http://www.susanpowteronline.com/

Time Trade: https://www.timetrade.com/

Day Timer: https://www.daytimer.com/daytimer/home

OneNote: https://www.onenote.com/

Evernote: https://evernote.com/

Toodledo: https://toodledo.com

Dr. Kathleen Roe: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kathleen-roe-05028436

Tez Anderson: https://letskickass.org

(Frank also asked me to add this disclaimer to the show notes: “The views expressed during this podcast come from my personal experiences and not represent views or opinions held by the CDC or HHS”)

Training Clients to Work Your Way with Curtis McHale on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 36

Curtis McHale took his training as a counselor and applied it to his work in web development, writing books and articles and hosting a podcast to help small businesses define their processes. He also coaches freelancers about how to optimize their work around the life they want to lead. Along the way he’s learned how to delegate the tasks he doesn’t enjoy, while holding onto the ones he finds energizing. In this episode, Curtis will explain how he trains his clients not to send him emails, he’ll share the process he follows to separate his work time from his personal time, and he’ll tell us how he turned his passion for Lego into a branding tool for his business.

Where to find Curtis online:

Personal Website: https://curtismchale.ca/

Consulting Website: http://sfndesign.ca/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/curtismchale

Running an Effective Project: http://sfndesign.ca/Project-Success/

Resources Curtis Mentioned

Boagworld: https://boagworld.com/show/

Red Booth: https://redbooth.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Calendly: https://calendly.com/

Omni Focus: https://www.omnigroup.com/omnifocus

Lego: https://www.lego.com/

Forty Eight Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller: www.48days.com

Jeff Goins: http://goinswriter.com/

The Art of Work by Jeff Goins: http://artofworkbook.com/

The Essential Gandhi: https://books.google.com.ph/books/about/The_Essential_Gandhi.html?id=gz6l-vCVgxQC&redir_esc=y

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield: http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art/

How to Read a Book by Mortimer Adler: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/567610.How_to_Read_a_Book

Freelancing and Business Consulting Success with Brennan Dunn on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 26

Brennan Dunn is on a mission to get freelancers to start thinking of themselves as business consultants. His company, Double Your Freelancing, grew out of his own experiences moving from independent developer to running his own agency, launching and selling a software-as-a-service product, and eventually publishing books and classes and running conferences designed to help other people selling their services learn the tricks he discovered along the way. In this episode Brennan will explain how he benefitted from joining a $2,000 a month mastermind group, why he prices his conferences to break even rather than doing them for profit, and why he would never again start a business by launching a software-as-a-service product.

Where to find Brennan online

Double Your Freelancing: https://doubleyourfreelancing.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/brennandunn

Resources Brennan mentioned

Planscope: http://planscope.io/

Amy Hoy: https://unicornfree.com/

30×500: https://30×500.com/

Xander Castro: http://www.startupeventsolutions.com/

Patrick McKenzie: http://www.kalzumeus.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Slack: https://slack.com/

WordPress: https://wordpress.com/

Helping Yourself by Helping Others with Ryan Waggoner on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 13

Freelancing can be tough, but after nine years consulting as a mobile developer, Ryan Waggoner has learned some ways to make it more approachable from the start, and more profitable as your business grows. Ryan still consults with clients directly on mobile projects while also running LetsMakeApps.io, a curated daily lead service that helps other freelancers find new opportunities in design and development for web and mobile. In this interview he shares with us the patterns he’s built into his daily routine to make sure his top priorities are always addressed first, where to put the focus when planning a new project, and why he thinks charging by the hour is a disservice to both the client and the freelancer.

Where to Find Ryan:

Ryan’s website: http://www.ryanwaggoner.com/

Mobile CTO site: http://mobilecto.io/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ryanwaggoner

Resources Ryan Mentioned:

Let’s Make Apps (with a special bonus for Hack the Process listeners): https://letsmakeapps.io/hacktheprocess

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie: http://www.dalecarnegie.com/about-us/dale-carnegie-books/

Never Eat Alone: by Keith Ferrazzi and Tahl Raz: http://keithferrazzi.com/products/never-eat-alone

Craigslist: https://www.craigslist.org/

GitHub: https://github.com/

Basecamp: https://basecamp.com/

Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey: https://www.stephencovey.com/7habits/7habits.php