Discover Your Inner Fitness Superhero With Julian Hayes on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 52

It’s possible to go from comic book nerd to fitness superhero, and Julian Hayes is proof of that. Julian turned himself into a writer, a speaker, and a coach by applying daily discipline to his routines while tracking his progress to figure out what worked best for his clients and for himself. In this episode of Hack the Process Julian will explain how he coaches fitness clients entirely online using tracking apps, why he avoids writing about specific diet and exercise prescriptions, and what one mundane but essential health recommendation he always comes back to.

Where to find Julian online:

Website: http://theartoffitnessandlife.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/thejulianhayes

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/julianhayesii/

free cheat sheet for busy entrepreneurs: http://theartoffitnessandlife.com/fitnessforbusyentrepreneurs/

Resources Julian mentioned:

Inc: https://www.inc.com/

Entrepreneur: https://www.entrepreneur.com/

Success: http://www.success.com/

FitBit: https://www.fitbit.com/

Apple Health: https://www.apple.com/lae/ios/health/

Jerry Seinfeld: http://jerryseinfeld.com/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/en/

Zoom: https://zoom.us/

Nudge: https://nudgecoach.com/nudgeapp/

Miles Davis: https://www.milesdavis.com/

Lenny Kravitz: http://www.lennykravitz.com/

Napoleon Hill: http://www.naphill.org/

freedom: https://freedom.to/

f.lux: https://justgetflux.com/

Spotify: https://www.spotify.com/us/

the four agreements: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005BRS8Z6/

mindset: https://mindsetonline.com/

Get Uncomfortably Awake With Michelle Kim on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 51

Blending activism and entrepreneurship sounds like a delicate dance, but as a Diversity and Inclusion Consultant and a career coach, Michelle Kim is showing us how to make it happen, one uncomfortable conversation at a time. In this episode of Hack the Process, Michelle will explain why diversity training for startups is about more than just ticking a box on a form, how her own life experiences inspired her work with marginalized communities and individuals, and what she’s doing to make sure the information and training products she’s developing are effective, tested, and ready for the market.

Where to find Michelle online:

Awaken: http://www.visionawaken.com

Personal Coaching/Consulting Site: http://www.michellekimconsulting.com

Blog: https://medium.com/@michellekim

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mjmichellekim

UC Berkeley Graduation Speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlGQhwegchU&t=2m50s

Resources Michelle mentioned:

Creative Live: https://www.creativelive.com/

General Assembly: https://generalassemb.ly

Tim Ferriss: https://tim.blog/

Leslie Mac : http://www.lesliemac.com/

Safety Pin Box: https://www.safetypinbox.com/

Kimberly Bryant: https://twitter.com/6Gems

Black Girls Code: http://www.blackgirlscode.com/

Ericka Huggins: https://www.erickahuggins.com/

Black Panther Party: http://www.cbpm.org/nbpp.html

Rich Russo: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rich-russo-cdp-99204125

Elephant in the Room: http://theelephantintheroomdiversitytrainings.org/

Note: After this interview was published, Michelle let me know that my initial use of the word “woke” in the title could have been interpreted as cultural appropriation. Like all of us, I’m still learning, and I apologize for any offense. If there were a word that conveyed the concept as clearly and concisely I would have used it. Meanwhile I’ve substituted “awake” for “woke” in the updated title, and I would be grateful to hear from folks in the comments about better ways to get this complex idea across in a word, or maybe two. -David

Staying In Control And Figuring Out What You Want With Heather Chauvin on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 48

What does a trained social worker do when she’s faced with handling her own child’s emotional issues? For Heather Chauvin, the answer was to look inside herself so she could model the behavior she wanted, and then share what she learned with the world. Now Heather coaches parents on mindfulness for their children and themselves, and hosts a regular podcast called Mom is in Control to help spread the word. In this episode, Heather will tell us how she built a business while parenting three sons, what she learned from battling and surviving stage four cancer along the way, and she’ll share one very simple technique for deciding what you really want and progressively making that your reality.

Where to find Heather online:

Mom is in Control Podcast: http://momisincontrol.com/

Heather’s website: http://heatherchauvin.com/

Teach Your Kid to Meditate: http://www.teachyourkidtomeditate.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HeatherChauvin

Resources Heather Mentioned:

Sensational Meditation for Children with Sarah Wood: http://www.sarahwood.com/books.html

Bruce Lipton: https://www.brucelipton.com/

The Artist’s Way: http://juliacameronlive.com/books-by-julia/the-artists-way-a-spiritual-path-to-higher-creativity/

Skype: https://www.skype.com/

Zoom: https://zoom.us/

Dr. Shefali: https://drshefali.com/

Daring Greatly by Brene Brown: http://brenebrown.com/books/

Failing Forward: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/628070.Failing_Forward

Mindful Marketing and Coaching with Guy and Ilan Ferdman from Satori Prime on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 44

The problems we face can sometimes show us the path we need to follow. Brothers Guy and Ilan Ferdman learned this early, transforming their personal struggles with depression and financial hardship into a marketing and personal transformation business, Satori Prime, that lets them explore their own educational growth while also helping others. In this episode of Hack the Process Guy and Ilan will tell us why their business model keeps evolving instead of following a fixed pattern, what it feels like to discover abundance by mindfully embracing discomfort and fear, and how they went from doing everything in their business themselves to letting go of the details and trusting the process.

Where to find Guy and Ilan online:

Satori Prime website: https://satoriprime.com/

Have It All Podcast: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/have-it-all/id1202969941

Satori Prime on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SatoriPrime

Resources mentioned:

Landmark Education: http://www.landmarkworldwide.com/

Wayne Dyer: http://www.drwaynedyer.com/

Esther Hicks: http://www.abraham-hicks.com/

Balancing Activism, Privilege, and Social Media with Frank Strona on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 43

Frank Strona is a public health advisor for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention who served on the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues in 2016. He also runs a private consultancy called MentorSF, where he teaches clients of all generations how to use social media to share their personal stories and advance their career goals. In this episode, Frank will tell us how he capitalized on his experience as sexual health educator and activist when he went back to school later in life, how mentoring continues to play a role in his career, and what nonprofit work has taught him about bringing your own privilege to the table when trying to help someone else with a different background.

Where to find Frank Online

MentorSF: http://mentorsf.com/

Engage! Blog: http://MentorSF.com/engage

Medium: https://medium.com/@FVStrona

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FVStrona

Resources Frank mentioned

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

Presidential Bioethics Commission: https://bioethicsarchive.georgetown.edu/pcsbi/

International Coaching Federation: https://www.coachfederation.org/

Susan Powter: http://www.susanpowteronline.com/

Time Trade: https://www.timetrade.com/

Day Timer: https://www.daytimer.com/daytimer/home

OneNote: https://www.onenote.com/

Evernote: https://evernote.com/

Toodledo: https://toodledo.com

Dr. Kathleen Roe: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kathleen-roe-05028436

Tez Anderson: https://letskickass.org

(Frank also asked me to add this disclaimer to the show notes: “The views expressed during this podcast come from my personal experiences and not represent views or opinions held by the CDC or HHS”)