Design as a Communications Skill with Jina Bolton on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 20

Jina Anne (formerly Bolton) has gone from web design to web engineering and back again, so she understands what it takes to establish Design standards for a project and make them attractive, both visually and technically. In addition, Jina’s talent for evangelizing has helped make her Lightning Design System for Salesforce popular both inside the company and across the open source community. Hear how she built on her community organizing skills, and went from hosting local meetups to creating Clarity, a conference all about Design Systems. Jina will tell us how organized a small team to line up speakers, solicit sponsors, and get the word out, all while still holding down a full-time job, and managing her own open source projects on the side.

Where to find Jina online

Website: http://jina.me

Clarity Conference: http://clarityconf.com/

Lightning Design System: https://www.lightningdesignsystem.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jina

Resources Jina mentioned

The Art and Science of CSS: https://www.sitepoint.com/premium/books/the-art-science-of-css

Richard Danne: http://www.dannedesign.com/

Nathan Curtis: http://www.eightshapes.com/nathan-curtis.html

Salesforce: https://www.salesforce.com/

Salesforce1: http://www.salesforce.com/eu/mobile/overview/

Chatter: http://www.salesforce.com/eu/chatter/overview/

Bootstrap: http://getbootstrap.com/

Sass: http://sass-lang.com/

SassConf: http://sassconf.com/

The Mixin: http://themixinsf.com/

Hampton Catlin: http://www.hamptoncatlin.com/

Chris Eppstein: http://chriseppstein.github.io/

Anna Pickard: http://annapickard.com/

Smashing Magazine: https://www.smashingmagazine.com/

CSS Tricks: https://css-tricks.com/

Chris Coyier: http://chriscoyier.net/

Code Pen: http://codepen.io/

SmashingConf: http://smashingconf.com/

Sitepoint: https://www.sitepoint.com/

CSSConf: https://2015.cssconf.com/

Cordelia McGee-Tubb: http://cordeliadillon.com/

MailChimp: http://mailchimp.com/

EventBrite: https://www.eventbrite.com/

Slack: https://slack.com/

Salesforce IQ: https://www.salesforceiq.com/

GitHub: https://github.com/

Author: M. David Green

The host of Hack the Process, M. David Green is a writer and agile business coach, and the founder of Agile That Works, a consultancy that helps people in engineering organizations collaborate more effectively to make constant improvement a daily practice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *