Connecting Personal Productivity and Community Engagement with Dr. Kesha Moore on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 41

Dr. Kesha Moore’s ongoing focus on understanding how we can thrive as individuals in a complex society helps her integrate her passion for studying across a wide range of fields, including Psychology, Sociology, and Community Organizing. Kesha currently divides her time between working as a professor of Sociology, parenting, activism, and building a business in life coaching. In this episode Kesha will tell us about finding the creativity to frame ideas in the language of specific audiences, staying productive and balanced despite a schedule that is never the same from one day to the next, and how it feels to build a side business as a life coach while maintaining a career in academia.

Where to find Kesha online

Website: http://yourlifeinfocuscoach.com/

Blog: http://yourlifeinfocuscoach.com/living-from-your-bliss-blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/coachkesha

Resources Kesha mentioned

National Affordable Housing: https://nationalaffordablehousing.com/

University of Pennsylvania: http://www.upenn.edu/

University of Michigan: https://www.umich.edu/

Originals: http://www.adamgrant.net/originals

Cheaper by the Dozen: http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/60050/cheaper-by-the-dozen-by-frank-b-gilbreth/9780307243249/

The Five-Second Rule: https://melrobbins.com/books/

Evicted: http://evictedbook.com/books/evicted-hc

The Journal of International Sociology: http://journals.sagepub.com/home/iss

Learn how effortless mindfulness can support mental health from Lisa Dale Miller on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 40

Lisa Dale Miller is an integrative psychotherapist who uses somatic experiencing therapy to help people deal with trauma, handle internal and external stressors, and learn to become awake and present. She’s also the author of “Effortless Mindfulness,” an academic textbook positioning the clinical work she practices in the context of traditional western psychotherapy. In this episode, Lisa will tell us why engineers are some of her favorite clients, how her years of mindfulness practice and study have informed the work she does today, and what promoted her to change careers and become a trained psychotherapist after 25 years as a pioneering installation artist.

Where to find Lisa online

Website: http://www.lisadalemiller.com/

Blog: https://effortlessmindfulness.wordpress.com/

Effortless Mindfulness Book: http://www.awakenedpresence.com/

Resources Lisa mentioned

Guy Macpherson: http://www.thetraumatherapistproject.com/

Jon Kabat-Zinn: https://www.mindfulnesscds.com/

Stephen Batchelor: https://www.stephenbatchelor.org/

Transcendental Meditation: http://www.tm.org/

Gautama (Shakyamuni): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gautama_Buddha

Find Out What a $100 MBA is Worth from Omar Zenhom on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 39

Omar Zenhom realized a semester into a Wharton MBA program that his ten years of independent teaching experience already gave him the background to teach people what they really needed to know to run a business. His popular $100 MBA podcast now has close to 900 episodes, and it’s helping to grow the audience for his library of business training materials. Along the way, he realized he needed a better tool to host his online classes, so he developed the Webinar Ninja service to scratch his own itch, and turned it into a software-as-a-service business by popular demand.

In this episode, Omar will tell us:

  • why he believes that having immigrant parents broadened his perspective and strengthened his resolve,
  • how leveraging your strengths can help set you in the most sustainable direction for your business, and
  • what it’s like running a company with a cofounder and partner who’s also your spouse.

Where to find Omar online:

$100 MBA Podcast: https://100mba.net

Webinar Ninja: https://webinarninja.co/

Blog: https://webinarninja.co/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/theomarzenhom

Resources Omar mentioned:

Nicole Baldinu: https://twitter.com/Nicole_Baldinu

Wharton Business School: https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/

Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance: https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062301239/elon-musk

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Shoe-Dog/Phil-Knight/9781501135910

Slack: https://slack.com/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Meister Task: https://www.meistertask.com/

Tim Ferriss: http://tim.blog/

Pat Flynn: https://www.smartpassiveincome.com/

The Art of Charm: https://theartofcharm.com/

From Mindset Inequality to Serial Entrepreneurship with Ricky Yean on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 38

Finding the confidence to enter the privileged world of Silicon Valley entrepreneurs is hard enough, and all the more so when you come from a different country with a background of poverty. But serial entrepreneur Ricky Yean found ways to turn his differences into advantages by recognizing less obvious solutions to shared problems. After building Crowdbooster, a successful social media analytics firm, Ricky is now planning to disrupt the world of public relations, making metrics-driven journalist outreach accessible to small businesses on a subscription basis. In this episode Ricky will tell us how he positioned himself to attract venture capital, what his experiences with startup incubators taught him, and how he turned his people skills into leadership by helping others around him achieve.

Where to find Ricky online:

PRX: http://www.prx.co/

Crowdbooster: http://crowdbooster.com/

Blog: https://rickyyean.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rickyyean

Privilege and Inequality in Silicon Valley: https://medium.com/tech-diversity-files/privilege-and-inequality-in-silicon-valley-92d455b66860#.tlffrl1w9

Resources Ricky mentioned:

Paul Graham: http://paulgraham.com/

Wait but Why: http://waitbutwhy.com/

Elon Musk: https://twitter.com/elonmusk

Principles by Ray Dalio: https://www.principles.com/

Y Combinator: https://www.ycombinator.com/

Hacker News: https://news.ycombinator.com/

Jeff Bezos: https://twitter.com/JeffBezos

Amazon Web Services: https://aws.amazon.com/

Lightspeed Ventures: http://lsvp.com/

Escaping Jail to Find a Career in Podcasts with Nicole Holland on Hack the Process Podcast, Episode 37

Knowing what you don’t want is sometimes just as important as knowing what you do want. That was definitely the case for Nicole Holland, who literally escaped from jail by quitting her job as a correctional officer to discover a more fulfilling way to make a living. Now Nicole hosts online summits about how to build a business, and helps experts learn how to present themselves effectively on podcasts. In this episode, Nicole will discuss some of the possible paths she pursued and abandoned along the way to her current career, tell us what qualities she thinks make podcasts unique in the media landscape, and explain why the process of writing things down on paper is valuable regardless of whether you ever refer to those notes later.

Where to find Nicole Online:

Interviews That Convert (special offer): http://interviewsthatconvert.com/htp

Building Business Rockstars: https://businessbuildingrockstarsummit.com/

Blog: https://bbrshow.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@niczthename

Resources Nicole mentioned:

John Lee Dumas: http://www.eofire.com/

MTV’s The Real World: http://www.mtv.ca/shows/real-world

Guerrilla Marketing by Jay Conrad Levinson: http://gmarketing.com/

Marisa Murgatroyd: http://www.liveyourmessage.com/

Superhero Summit: http://www.superherosummit.org/

Michelle Schubnel: http://www.coachandgrowrich.com/coaching/michelle-schubnel/

Process Street: https://www.process.st/

Trello: https://trello.com/

Asana: https://asana.com/

Nicole Culver: http://nicoleculverblog.com/

Blab: https://blab.im/

Dorie Clark: http://dorieclark.com/

Lou Bortone: http://www.loubortone.com/

The Mastery Journal by John Lee Dumas: http://www.themasteryjournal.com/

Acuity Scheduling: https://acuityscheduling.com/